Candy Melts are one of my favorite mediums to decorate with, because you can do so many different things with them – you can mold candy, pipe with it, trace with it, make ganache, make candy clay – the list goes on and on! Here at Wilton, we receive a LOT of questions about how to use Candy Melts. We made a list of some of the most commonly asked questions and created a video to answer them for you.
Q: Can I put coloring Candy Melts?
A: You sure can – but only if you use colors that are oil based, as those are made to work with candy. Regular icing colors are water based and will cause your candy to seize, so you can’t use them with Candy Melts. There are eight different colors to choose from between the Primary Candy Colors Set and the Garden Candy Color Set. You can change the intensity of white Candy Melts or even some colored Candy Melts with these colors.
Q: What about adding flavor?
A: Yep, it can be done! But, just like with the coloring sets above, you have to use flavorings that are not water based. Our Candy Flavoring Set has peppermint, cherry, creme de menthe and cinnamon.
Q: Why aren’t Candy Melts halal?
A: A LOT of questions on this one – I don’t think I was prepared for how many questions we would get! According to our Food and Regulatory Team, in order for a product to be CERTIFIED as Halal, all milk products must come from Halal animals. In order for Candy Melts to be officially certified, the milk ingredients that are currently used (whole milk solids, nonfat milk solids, and whey powder) would need to be replaced with Halal certified versions. I have heard a variety of feedback from those who follow a Halal diet that since the animal is alive when milked, the Candy Melts would be considered Halal. I will leave that up to personal choice; we are just unable to say that the Candy Melts are CERTIFIED Halal.
Q: Can I use vegetable oil to thin out my candy?
A: You can, but since it’s a liquid, it can be harder to control. I recommend using EZ Thin and adding a little at a time until you’ve reached the desired consistency. You can find EZ Thin here on the site, through Amazon, or at your local craft store.
Q: Are Candy Melts nut free?
A: Candy Melts are made in a facility that processes peanuts and other nuts. They are not peanut and nut free for those who have allergies.
If you have more questions, feel free to share them in the comments below!