How to Use Candy Melts Candy

June 16th, 2016 by Desiree Smith

Candy Melts are one of my favorite mediums to decorate with, because you can do so many different things with them – you can mold candy, pipe with it, trace with it, make ganache, make candy clay – the list goes on and on! Here at Wilton, we receive a LOT of questions about how to use Candy Melts. We made a list of some of the most commonly asked questions and created a video to answer them for you.

From that video, we received even more comments and questions! I’d like to answer some of those here:

Q: Can I put coloring Candy Melts?
A: You sure can – but only if you use colors that are oil based, as those are made to work with candy. Regular icing colors are water based and will cause your candy to seize, so you can’t use them with Candy Melts. There are eight different colors to choose from between the Primary Candy Colors Set and the Garden Candy Color Set. You can change the intensity of white Candy Melts or even some colored Candy Melts with these colors.

Q: What about adding flavor?
A: Yep, it can be done! But, just like with the coloring sets above, you have to use flavorings that are not water based. Our Candy Flavoring Set has peppermint, cherry, creme de menthe and cinnamon.

Q: Why aren’t Candy Melts halal?
A LOT of questions on this one – I don’t think I was prepared for how many questions we would get! According to our Food and Regulatory Team, in order for a product to be CERTIFIED as Halal, all milk products must come from Halal animals. In order for Candy Melts to be officially certified, the milk ingredients that are currently used (whole milk solids, nonfat milk solids, and whey powder) would need to be replaced with Halal certified versions. I have heard a variety of feedback from those who follow a Halal diet that since the animal is alive when milked, the Candy Melts would be considered Halal. I will leave that up to personal choice; we are just unable to say that the Candy Melts are CERTIFIED Halal.

Q: Can I use vegetable oil to thin out my candy?
You can, but since it’s a liquid, it can be harder to control. I recommend using EZ Thin and adding a little at a time until you’ve reached the desired consistency. You can find EZ Thin here on the site, through Amazon, or at your local craft store.

Q: Are Candy Melts nut free?
 Candy Melts are made in a facility that processes peanuts and other nuts. They are not peanut and nut free for those who have allergies.

If you have more questions, feel free to share them in the comments below!

Desiree Smith Desiree is the Public Relations Manager at Wilton. She spends her days monitoring media opportunities, working with newspaper, magazine and television contacts, collaborating with bloggers and handling a variety of other odds and ends. Desiree has a degree in journalism and experience writing for newspapers and television. Outside of Wilton, she enjoys running and planning outings with friends.

31 Replies

  1. rena says:

    This Video saved my life!

  2. Melania says:

    I tried to melt the candy on the microwave and never melt and turn brown, I put it 1st at 50% of power and then at defroster, and was the same, never melted and turn brown, I used an open microwave container, what I’m doing wrong?? Please help! I need to cover a cookies for my daughter birthday party and I’m desperate!
    thanks for read it!

    • Michele Andolina says:

      Oh my gosh, I had the same problem! I was using the Wilton box thing they make specifically for melting in the microwave, especially for pretzel rods, but wowzer did it NOT work. Only used 50% power, 30 sec intervals, even added shortening to try to thin it out. But nope, just a thick mess of a fail. The only way to get it on the pretzels was to spread it with a knife. How in the world do you fix this?

      • Karlee says:

        Hey I use the candy melt melting pot. it works so much better than the microwave and easy clean up. you should try that bc the pot is removable from the heating base, has a high temperature to melt them and then a low temperature to keep them melted butter no longer heating, then off. also for clean up u can either wait and let the chocolate harden in the silicone pot, or u can just put the silicone pot into the fridge and then just put it inside out by the garbage and it will all fall off. then just wash it. I love it and highly recommend it.

  3. Sarah says:

    Hello… I want to ask why did you still use Palmoil for your products? I want to use them but I don’t support the Palmoil business! Please! If you’re interested in a future of our rainforests than try to use an other oil!

    Greetings from Germany


  4. Sharon says:

    Do the Candy Melts expire? I have several bags in my cupboard and I’m not sure how long they have been there. There doesn’t seem to be a use by date on the package. Thank you!

    • Cindy says:

      The video says that the candy melts are good for about 24 months. How do I determine how old mine are? That is, how do you interpret the manufacturing code on the bag?

  5. Larissa says:

    Can I melt these on a stove top?

    • Desiree Smith says:

      Hi Larissa,

      Yes, you can do so using the double boiler method. Put your Candy Melts in a glass bowl that fits snugly atop of a cooking pot. Fill the cooking pot less than halfway with water, ensuring that the bowl does not touch the water. As the water boils, the heat from the steam created will melt your Candy Melts in the bowl.

      Happy Decorating!

  6. Crystal Garrison says:

    I have the older metal candy melter. Can I use the new silicone pot in it.

  7. Abeer says:

    Regarding the Halal question
    Based on my knowledge there is nothing wrong with the ingredients except if the milk is not from cow or sheep may I know the source please ?

    • Desiree Smith says:

      Hi Abeer,

      According to our Food and Regulatory team, we are only able to say a product is Halal if it is CERTIFIED as Halal. We have not gone through the certification process for Candy Melts and therefore cannot 100% claim they are Halal. My source is our internal Food and Regulatory team. If you have additional resources on this topic, I would recommend consulting with them as I do not have enough knowledge of Halal. I can tell you that the dairy products in Candy Melts come from cows. I am just unable to say that the Candy Melts are CERTIFIED Halal.

      Thank you,

  8. Tonnie says:

    Does it have and expiration date and if so when

  9. Carolyn richards says:

    Why do you not have products that are processed in a nut free facility

  10. K Navabi says:

    HELP!!! The candy melts never reach a ‘pour’ consistency.. I have tried the Wilton Candy Melt pot, double boiler and microwave. I have added Wilton flakes, veg. oil and shortening (not all to the same melts). When the candy has set up, I have air bubbles despite tapping and the candy cracks and breaks. I love making the candy treats but yield only 1 out of 12 candies each time. What am I doing wrong?

    • Canspinner says:

      Try and use paramount crystals. They have worked for me in the past. I have not tried the EZ thin dipping yet. If you use oil, it gives it a very oily taste!

  11. Terri Mitchell says:

    After I’ve dipped my strawberries in candy melt, what is the best way to store them until eaten?

  12. Tanya says:

    I am making candy melt lollipops. I wanted to know if I would bag them and tie a ribbon on them how long would they last.

  13. Jill Strzinek says:

    Help. Once I pipe my cupcake decor… Reasonably sturdy (they are cactus, so not super breakable like snowflakes), how do I store and then transport (car) to the venue?

    Flat? Wax paper?

  14. Katherine Ogden says:

    I have tried to pipe candy melts, but they didn’t stay melted long enough for me to pipe for more than a couple of minutes. I’ve microwaved as instructed, and I’ve tried the double-boiler, but still no luck!

  15. Wendy says:

    How can I use candy melts to use for icing cookies instead of icing

  16. Meachel says:

    I have a question I just got a Wilton chocolate melter and I was stirring the chocolate in it as it was melting I added ez thin but as I kept mixing it started turning really lumpy and I got really frustrated and I was disappointed I don’t know if the ez thin was the problem or the por burned my chocolate please help!?

  17. Darlene M Arnold says:

    have unopened bags of candy melts…the milk chocolate ones are whitish color….are they ok to use?

  18. Me williams says:

    How much flavoring oil should I use for a 12 ounce bag of melts?

  19. Me Williams says:

    How much flavoring oil should I use for a 12 ounce bag of candy melts?

  20. Jeanette says:

    I’ve worked with Candy Melts on multiple occasions and haven’t ran into the issue I’m having with my latest project. I am using recently purchased melts and the Wilton melting pot. I put a little over half of the 12 oz bag in the pot on the melt setting. Stirring as needed, when nearly melted, I reduce to warm and I add the remaining melts form the bag and some of the EZ dip (this is with bright white chips). I then stir as needed to bring to a smooth consistency.

    Here in is the issue I’m having, when I spoon some of the mixture and let it run off of the spoon, it will run smooth initially, and then it separates and clumps on the spoon, resembling a cracked lakebed type of pattern. If I tap the spoon, I can get it partially smooth out – but its’s an extra step that I haven’t had to use when working with melts in the past.

    Please advise what can be done differently to have a smooth “runoff” of the excess chocolate (as this continues when dipping anything in it as well).

    • Desiree Smith says:

      Hi Jeanette,

      We’re sorry that you’re having trouble with our Candy Melts candy. Please send us an email at so we could look into your concerns further. Please include details where you purchased the product, and if you still have the packaging, please send us a photo of it showing the lot code stamped on it. Thanks and we appreciate your feedback.

  21. Sue says:

    I’m having the same weird problem with Wilton candy melts that look like elephant skin. Other brand of candy melts are great when melted and nice and runny which gives a nice coating.
    The Wilton are thick and even using the expensive paramount crystals to thin in a melting machine they still go a clumpy ‘elephant’ skin effect. Resulting in a rocky looking pop cake.
    Unfortunately I have just bought 4 x 1lb bags of this stuff so not happy.
    Can anyone advise please?

    • Desiree Smith says:

      Hi Sue,

      We will be posting a new blog post tomorrow about How to Thin Candy Melts. We also have this video that should be helpful.

    • Desiree Smith says:

      Hi Sue,

      We’re sorry that you’re having trouble with our Candy Melts candy. Please send us an email at so we could look into your concerns further. Please include details where you purchased the product, and if you still have the packaging, please send us a photo of it showing the lot code stamped on it. Thanks and we appreciate your feedback.

Leave a Reply

To prevent spam please solve the math problem below :